For Those Who Can

In my favorite poem by Anis Mojgani, ‘For Those Who Can Still Ride In Airplanes‘ there is a line:
I wanna tell him, “Slow down, Quentin.
You don’t have to touch and go. You can see it all if your finger whispers on one word.
Slow down and hold what you see just a little bit longer.”
For in a world of fast faces, I’m looking for God everywhere, trying to figure out a little better this little thing he made called a man.”

I am reminded as I take practice, slow down Morgan, this practice is practice, and it is 90 minutes out of my day, and that asana that looks like hell is only 2 minutes out of 24 hours. Slow down and hold what you see for a little bit longer. In this world of fast faces, don’t forget to take it in, breathe a moment longer.
And Sharath says,
‘Why you hurry, you hungry?’

This is burned into my memory from my first trip to Mysore. Sharath is not known for his humor, but in my first led class with him he busts this out and students chuckle. I didn’t think it was funny because I was one of the few moving on ahead of him. It is a cruel initiation into practicing in Mysore for those that have never had the opportunity to practice with him. For those that have established a relationship with him and know his count, they know where he stands in the room, know when he pauses, and know the ‘fffffffffffffive’ count, this humor serves a purpose, breaking up the practice and reminding us not to get ahead of ourselves, not to get ahead of him. In a led class we breathe the same breath, we are equal, it’s intense.
In a Mysore room we move to our own breath. Sometimes it is slow, somedays caffeine pulses through our fingers that are taking on way too much way to fast, and somedays we find ourselves steady, but each day I would like to think that practice reminds me to slow down, see it all in one breath.

Leave a Reply

